PLEASE READ BEFORE PROCEEDING
** You must be within 60 days of expiration to enter a renewal application on this page **
The Wake County Sheriff's Office has reserved appointments to accomodate our renewal applicants. Fill out the renewal application on this page and set your appointment time. You must have an appointment.
IF you are having difficulty, call us at 919-856-6949 or send email to GunPermits@wakegov.com with your name, permit number, expiration date and a good contact number we will contact you to set up a date and time for you to come in before you expire. This email is reserved for Concealed Carry Handgun Permit Renewals Only.
Renewal of Carry Concealed Handgun Permits: Applicants must fill out an on-line renewal application. Acceptance of the renewal packet will be conducted by appointment only. Appointments are available only to applicants who expire within the next 60 days. Customer Service will print your forms on the day of your scheduled appointment.
New Carry Concealed Handgun Permits: You must complete a North Carolina State approved carry concealed handgun course prior to application. After you have completed your online application, you must make an appointment to sign the required documents and be fingerprinted. Customer Service will print your forms on the day of your scheduled appointment. We will not accept walk ins. You must have an appointment. Due to public health concerns, you must wear a face mask/covering when entering our facility for fingerprinting.
If you are a sworn law enforcement officer, retired probation or parole, retired law enforcement officer, former sworn law enforcement officer, retired correctional officer, current correctional officer, current state probation or parole certified officer or if you are licensed or registered by the North Carolina Private Protective Services Board as an armed security guard, and are seeking exemption from the firearms safety and training course requirement under NCGS 14-415.12(a), see the bottom of the page for further details on what you must bring to your appointment to be considered for exemption. If you have any questions, contact our office at 919-856-6949.
Change of Address and Duplicate card requests: Change of address and duplicate card requests must be made in person and do not require and appointment Monday thru Friday 8:30 am-5:00pm (excl. Holidays). Please have your current address already updated with the DMV prior to coming in. There is no fee for changing your address. Duplicate/Replacement cards require a $15.00 fee (cash or check) due at the time of request. Please note, change of address and duplicate card requests are for Wake County permit holders only. If your permit is issued in another County, you must contact the County of issuance to change your address or to request a duplicate permit.
Learning the laws regulating the use of firearms is a must for responsible ownership. Local regulations differ and laws vary from state to state. Citizens must check with the jurisdiction where the gun is to be used.
The Sheriff and his staff are required to follow strict state guidelines when performing the necessary background checks for Concealed Handgun Permits. Due to the nature of the detailed due diligence, appointment times and processing times can take multiple weeks. During the application process, you will be asked to schedule an appointment (for New and Renewal CHP permits). Please note that you will be asked to pay now to reserve your appointment.
In accordance with NCGS 14-415.13(a), Concealed Handgun Permits MUST be obtained from the Sheriff of your county of RESIDENCE.
If you are RENEWING a Concealed Handgun Permit, you MUST apply PRIOR to your expiration date, but no more than 60 days prior to the expiration date.
If your permit has EXPIRED, but it has been LESS than 60 days since the permit expired, you will be required to apply as a NEW APPLICANT, be fingerprinted, and pay the $90.00 fee, but you will not be required to submit a new training certificate.
If more than 60 days has passed since your permit EXPIRED, you must retake the CONCEALED HANDGUN TRAINING COURSE, apply as a NEW APPLICANT, and submit the NEW TRAINING CERTIFICATE with the application.
- A New Concealed Handgun Permit costs $90.00, which includes the $10.00 fingerprinting fee. (Online transactions: $5.00 convenience fee for each permit, credit card transaction fee of no more than .30 per transaction and up to 3.3% of total transaction may be charged by the 3rd party payment processor for all transactions)
- A Renewal Concealed Handgun Permit costs $75.00. (Online transactions: $5.00 convenience fee for each permit, credit card transaction fee of no more than .30 per transaction and up to 3.3% of total transaction may be charged by the 3rd party payment processor for all transactions)
- Applications for CHP and Renewals will be processed between 8:30am-4:30pm Monday-Friday.
- Click on the NEW or RENEW application link to start the application.
Gaining competency with firearms is like learning to drive a car or fly an airplane. You need expert instruction and practice. There is no shortcut. If you are not willing to invest the time and effort to become competent, then having a firearm and trying to use it can, in many instances, be more hazardous than any impending threat.
Permit to Carry Information